the breaking point

I am now convinced.

For the last two years, I have debated and wrestled with joining the blog world. My professors have encouraged the discipline of writing; to which I’ve replied, “but it’s not real writing.” The irony? I’m afraid because it’s real. It’s complete vulnerability – my thoughts on a page for anyone to read. And today, after reading the e-mail below from Matt, I can’t ignore it any longer. Thank you to Matt who wants to sing my story, as I search for courage for my own voice…

From: Matthew Scott
Sent: Tuesday, June 01, 2010 11:02 AM
To: Jill M. Barlow
Subject: it is time…

jill:

it is time for me to write this song….i feel it. i am on the cusp of writing a song that might last.

one that is dedicated to the memory of your dear mother.

one that is dedicated to you, one who has walked through so much darkness. one who has tasted death, anger, doubt, fear, desolation and the like.

one that is dedicated to the struggle; to the valley; to the mystery; to the dance between doubt and hope.

one that is dedicated to those young and old who have felt that God is so far out of reach, but somehow believed that he is closer than breath.

so, it would be my honor to hear your story. and it would be my honor to do my best to write and sing as honest of a song as i know how.

would you allow me this honor? i dont know where to go from here. i will receive anything you have to offer.

blessings to you,

m@

Leave a Reply

