Anthropology – Creation of Humanity, The Fall, Original Sin

Humanity is the creation of God. (Gen. 1:26-27; Gen. 2:7; Ps. 8:4-8; Ps. 100:3; 1 Pet. 4:19) Man was created in the image of God: we possess personhood, are relational beings, and exercise dominion and care for creation. God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good. Therefore, I deny Pelagianism and Manicheanism, and I affirm Augustinianism. The ontological and noetic basis of our humanity is the humanity of Jesus. I believe man is the creature who is from (derived and sustained), for (ordered in meaning), and with (in relationship) God.  

I affirm the fall as history, not allegory. I believe the tree of the knowledge of good and evil was the opportunity for the test of obedience. I believe the tree is a liberation, not a prohibition. (Gen. 2:16-17) I believe humanity’s original state was posse non peccare; Adam was created righteous but mutable. I believe in the original righteousness of man. (Gen. 1:31) Yet man sinned by disobeying God. (Gen. 3) By this sin, humanity fell from their original righteousness and communion with God, and so became dead in sin (Rom. 3, 6).

I believe the guilt of this sin was imputed, whereby we became subject to the wrath of God, the curse of the law, and death. Man became non posse non peccare. (Rom. 3:23) I affirm corporate personality, universal/total depravity, and human inability not to sin. Sin entered the world through one man, and death through sin, and in this way death came to all men. (Rom. 5:12) I believe the purpose of my free will is to love God and to choose him.

Leave a Reply

