Salvation – Regeneration/Conversion, Justification/Sanctification, Election/Predestination

In regards to salvation, I believe in Christological grace that is prevenient, operating, cooperating, and preserving. I believe that I am saved by grace alone through faith in Christ alone. (Rom. 3:24) I believe the basis of righteousness is Christ; the instrument of righteousness, faith. (Rom. 3:22) I affirm that divine grace is the only efficient cause of initiating conversion. I affirm that “grace alone” excludes the possibility for merit. I cannot know God apart from God; my free will is restored by the grace of God, which frees me to love God.  I confess regeneration is the work of the Holy Spirit, therefore, I deny Inclusivism. Regeneration creates new possibilities: good works, sanctification, dying of self, and life in the Spirit. (Rom. 6; Rom. 8; I Cor. 15; Gal. 5) I consider myself dead to sin and alive to God in Christ. (Rom. 6:11) I have been set free from sin and have become a slave of righteousness. (Rom. 6:18) I confess the Holy Spirit makes union with Christ possible, and that no one comes to the Father except through Christ.

Sanctification is grounded in the completed work of Jesus Christ on the cross. I believe by Christ’s obedience, the many will be made righteous. (Rom. 5:19) I affirm that penal substitution makes justification possible, the acceptance with which God receives me into his favor as righteous person. God expects ethical perfection, and therefore, only in Christ can I meet the standard. Christ, by his obedience and death, did fully discharge the debt of those who are justified. I believe the righteousness of God is an imputation (like a garment that clothes me) that is imparted (it is Christ himself in me) to me. Sanctification through obedience is made possible because the provision has been made. I believe the justification of believers under the Old Testament was one and the same with the justification of believers under the New Testament: grace alone through faith.

I believe the elect are God’s chosen people who were set apart from the beginning of time to be saved. (Romans 8:29-30) I believe all of the elect will certainly be saved. God predestines those whom He will save, and that without His predestination, none would be saved because we are fallen and cannot know God without God revealing Himself to us. (Rom. 1:18-23, 2 Cor. 4:3-4) I believe God chose to justify the elect, and in the fullness of time, Christ died for their sins, and rose again for their justification. The elect are not justified, until the Holy Spirit unites them to Christ. I believe election and predestination are not merit-based, are unconditional, and from all eternity. I believe all things have been eternally, simultaneously known and predestined by God.

Leave a Reply

