Immanuel

“We cannot attain the presence of God. We’re already totally in the presence of God. What’s absent is awareness.” ~ Richard Rohr, Everything Belongs: The Gift of Contemplative Prayer

I am learning deeper, transformational truth about God. His company cannot be evaded by going to hell, the depths of the sea, or the heights of the heavens:

Can a man hide himself in secret places so that I cannot see him? declares the Lord. Do I not fill heaven and earth? declares the Lord. ~ Jeremiah 23:24

“If they dig into Sheol, from there shall my hand take them; if they climb up to heaven, from there I will bring them down. ~ Amos 9:2

Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! ~ Psalm 139:7-8

So since He is an ever-present God, why do we Christians ask Him to “be with us” in our day, at our meal time, or during our worship service?

Leave a Reply

