Cheryl Ann

“After being baptized by John in the River Jordan, Jesus went off alone into the wilderness where he spent forty days asking himself the question of what it meant to be Jesus. During Lent, Christians are supposed to ask one way or another what it means to be themselves…to answer questions like this is to begin to hear something not only of who you are but of both what you are becoming and what you are failing to become. It can be pretty depressing business all in all, but if sackcloth and ashes are at the start of it, something like Easter may be at the end.” ~ Frederick Buechner

As Lent approaches, I always seem to miss my Mom. The horrific suffering and death of Jesus reminds me: I will see her again.

Jesus died, so she (we) might live.

Words that prompt more than a trivial giving up of chocolate or facebook.

Words that affect my soul.

Words that wreck me.

Lent has only and everything to do with Jesus.

And if sackcloth and ashes are at the start of it, something like Easter may be at the end.

 

2 thoughts on “Cheryl Ann

  1. Brittany Y. says:

    This is so sweet, friend. And I love the picture you included. Little Jill!!
    I’m so grateful that something like Easter, dare I say better, will be at the end.

Leave a Reply

