careful moves

Life is wonderfully unstable.

I was reminded recently of this truth while playing Jenga. To be successful in this game, I often pick the safest pieces and craft careful moves. While gently touching the perimeters, my fingers secure its framework.

But sometimes, I take risks.

I process the move, uncertain of the effects of the repositioning, yet confident of the support that under-girds and surrounds. The structure could become more unstable, could come crashing down, could end in tragedy. But I risk it anyway.

Life has crashing moments. Moments that are not gentle or careful. They instead shatter and cripple. Unlike Jenga, the shards are not easily reassembled.

But with each one, there grows a confidence of support that will under-gird and surround me.

Leave a Reply

